... an exploration of mobile trends in luxury retail

mobi.luxe Top Ten Posts for 2011

In digital luxury, luxury, luxury mobile, mobile 2.0 on December 30, 2011 at 12:45 pm

 

At long last, 2011 has been a year of reckoning for the mobile marketplace. We have all been witness to tremendous advancements in the field and anxiously look forward to 2012 and the continued innovations that the new year will undoubtedly bring.

When I first began this blog, the first piece I crafted was entitled “An Obsolescence Missive.” As I look back on 2011, I also look back at the words I wrote at this project’s inception and find that they have proven true:

The mobile revolution is upon us.  There, I’ve said it.  Analysts from such venerable firms as Morgan Stanley, Gartner, and Jupiter Research have all confirmed it.  The question is …”where do we go from here?”

It’s an interesting proposition to attempt to define and document some semblance of a manifesto or mission statement that accurately reflects the spirit of my venturing out into the blogosphere to tackle a subject like mobile and, in turn, it’s implications for luxury and “masstige” retail brands.  In such a rapidly-evolving and highly fragmented market, how can one in good conscience attempt to relay anything revolutionary while said revolution is taking form all around us?  The overarching point here being that as soon as this first post is published, another momentous step in this burgeoning space will have been taken and much of what is discussed here will be rendered obsolete.

Thank being said, I commit to any who take the time to listen to provide fresh insights into the effects (either positive or negative) of mobile on luxury retail.  That’s it … as simple as that.  Fresh and honest and, hopefully, somewhat insightful insomuch as one flying blind into a storm can provide a ray of knowledge.

With this in mind, I will push the Publish button and my missive of obsolescence will commence with its self-fulfilling prophecy.

My Best,

Scott Forshay aka mobi.luxe

October 11, 2010

In celebration of all those who have been so kind as to read the contents herein whose support and encouragement have provided immeasurable inspiration and kept this humble project going, I offer the following Top Ten Posts of 2011 as voted on by you. I thank you all for your support and promise to strive to provide innovative thinking and practical perspective as we enter 2012. I hope you enjoy.
Thank you to you all and I wish you a very happy, safe, and prosperous 2012.

Leave a comment